chalk point
kitchen -
New York

OUTSIDE

Chalk Point Kitchen NYC

251115 | janina

New York has it all-even Chalk Point Kitchen.

If you’ve been to New York, you probably remember that making up your mind about restaurants is really hard. There are too many amazing places and they are in every single neighborhood. Even in Queens! One of my favorite restaurants in downtown New York is the Chalk Point Kitchen in SoHo. It has everything: a great atmosphere, ingenuous décor, and delectable food.

Sitting on a comfy leather bench, at a corner table with some friends I enjoyed the best view of the downtown patrons. A mix of casual hipsters, model moms and people out on online dates all mingling happily together. My eyes gazed around, admiring the array of collectible items that adorn the restaurant. Noted architect Chien Dao designed the interior, using with Polaroid photos, barn house lampshades and antique furniture. Walking in, I immediately knew I had found an oasis of serenity and comfort.

As a spoiled (expat) New Yorker, I however expected the best food…and luckily got it! Chalk Point Kitchen chef Joe Isidori, who holds a Michelin star, prepares ingredients exclusively from local farms. As a so-called ‘Farm-to-Table restaurant,’ this SoHo spot is among the gastronomic trendsetters for artisanal and craft creations.

Being part of the slow food movement, the dishes are made from scratch and from seasonal ingredients only. As a European (and a picky eater!) I am a hard sell. The average food quality is just really high in my fatherland. Luckily, I was not disappointed but incredibly satisfied with the food and the restaurant’s dedication to ecologic responsibility.

My lunch consisted of a healthy but hearty quinoa salad bowl, which was delicious! The balance of flavors and texture was perfect with avocado chunks, baked ricotta balls and toasted nuts. My skinny friends shared the fried fish BLT and the baked zucchini cheese sandwich. I allowed myself to taste them and they were absolutely delicious without being too greasy. I wish I had ordered one for myself! Next time.

Non-carnivores love the menu because of the variety of scrumptious vegetarian sides, which are perfect for sharing. We snacked on the avocado potato hash but really loved the sweet-savory butternut squash-ricotta chunks!

My experience at Chalk Point Kitchen was everything I had hoped for: an escape from the daily hussle and bussle that simply allows me to catch up with good friends over a great meal. Probably gossiping about men and fashion.

Chalk Point Kitchen
527 Broome Street (near Thompson)
New York, NY 10013
+ 1 212 390 0327
FeedMe@ChalkPointKitchen.com
www.chalkpointkitchen.com

chalk point
kitchen -
New York

OUTSIDE

Chalk Point Kitchen NYC

251115 | janina

New York hat alles, sogar das Chalk Point Kitchen.

Wer schon mal nach New York gereist ist, erinnert sich bestimmt daran, wie anstrengend es ist, die besten Restaurants zu finden, oder?
Es gibt einfach viel zu viele tolle Möglichkeiten – in jedem Bezirk. Sogar in Queens! Eines meiner Favoriten ist das Chalk Point Kitchen in SoHo, das sich im Herzen von Downtown New York befindet. Es hat alles, was man sich wünschen kann. Eine gute Atmosphäre, innovatives Dekor und vor allem köstliches Essen.

Ich hatte den besten Platz mit meinen Freunden an einem Ecktisch mit Ledersitzbank, von dem ich den besten Blick auf die anderen Gäste hatte. Ein Mix von legeren Hipstern, Modelmüttern und Leuten auf Online Dates vermischten sich untereinander. Mein Blick wanderte umher, von einem Sammlerstück zum anderen, das das Restaurant verziert. Architekt und Designer Chien Dao verwertete Polaroidphotos, Lampenschirme im Landhausstil und antikes Mobiliar.
Ich fühlte mich sofort wohl und wusste, ich hatte eine Oase von Beschaulichkeit und Geborgenheit gefunden.

Als verwöhnter (zugezogener) New Yorker erwartete ich die beste Mahlzeit und bekam sie auch glücklicherweise! Chefkoch Joe Isidori, der im Besitz eines Michelinsterns ist, benutzt ausschließlich Zutaten von Bauernhöfen aus der Umgebung. Als sogenanntes „Vom Hof zu Tisch Restaurant“ ist diese Lokalität gastronomischer Trendsetter für handgemachte Feinkost.

Als Teil der Slow Food Bewegung, sind die kulinarischen Kreationen von Grund auf selbst hergestellt und aus saisonalen Zutaten. Ich bin ja so schwer zu überzeugen als Europäer und wählerischer Esser. Die Qualität der Lebensmittel ist einfach viel höher in meinem Heimatland! Glücklicherweise wurde ich nicht enttäuscht und war sehr beeindruckt mit meinem Essen und dem Einsatz des Restaurants, sich ökologisch voll einzusetzen.

Mein Lunch bestand aus der herzhaften und doch leichten Quinoasalatschale, die sehr delikat war! Die perfekte Balance von Aroma und Konsistenz wurde durch Avocadostücke, gebackene Ricottabällchen und knusprige Nüssen vollbracht.
Meine gertenschlanken Freundinnen teilten sich das Backfisch- und das überbackene Zucchini Käse Sandwich. Ich erlaubte mir eine kleine Kostprobe und beide waren wirklich köstlich, ohne allzu reichhaltig zu sein. Hätte ich doch lieber ein Sandwich bestellt! Nächstes Mal dann.

Die Pflanzenesser dagegen erfreuen sich an der Vielfalt der vegetarischen Beilagen, die man ideal teilen kann. Wir naschten an den Kartoffelpuffern mit Avocado, aber liebten die lieblich-pikanten Butternusskürbisstückchen mit Ricottakäse!

Mein Erlebnis im Chalk Point Kitchen war kaum zu übertrumpfen. Ich hatte meinen Ausflug vom täglichen Rummel, bei dem ich mich mit guten Freunden für ein großartiges Mahl treffen konnte. Wahrscheinlich tratschten wir über Männer und Mode.

Chalk Point Kitchen
527 Broome Street (near Thompson)
New York, NY 10013
+ 1 212 390 0327
FeedMe@ChalkPointKitchen.com
www.chalkpointkitchen.com