Wellness
to the
point

BEAUTY & SPORT

Wellness to the point

091217 | Redaktion

The Epitome of Well-Being

Katja Limbach is Deputy Manager of east Sporting Club and east Mandarin Body & Soul. She manages coordination of the team at east Sporting Club, particularly on reception. At the Mandarin body & soul spa, Katja is responsible for instructing cosmetics and massage to the trainees.

Photo

What’s the most important thing about a spa or cosmetic treatment?

Catering to guests’ wishes and needs is more important than anything else. I want to know who the person is and how I can make him or her happy. I asked them about any skin irritations or complaints they might have, how they would describe their skin, e.g. if it is blemished or perhaps dry. I delve a little deeper to discover the cause, try to find out what we can do to combat it and what they can do at home in the long run.

What kind of guests come to you?

We have members from the Sporting Club. Hotel guests also come to us of course, usually at the weekend. And many Hamburg residents as well.

What would you recommend to someone who only has half an hour to spare?

We have various quick treatments available for people who want to look fresher, just switch off for a moment and rejuvenate themselves before going to their next meeting. Like the “Cicé Lifting Kick”. This focuses in on skincare, stimulating circulation with a pressure point massage on the face and head, and relaxing the entire body this way by honing in on the meridians.

What can people do at home for relaxation and well-being?

It is important to set time aside to focus on yourself! This might include cleansing and skincare, supporting the skin and protecting it from stressful environmental influences such as the sun, heat and harmful emissions. It should ideally become a ritual, like brushing your teeth.

Another good thing to do is simply nothing at all for half an hour, just listening to some nice music. Make sure you turn off your phone and TV, and just listen!

Photo

Photo

What would you recommend to men when it comes to their body & soul?

More and more men are paying closer attention to looking good and treating themselves to a manicure, pedicure or facial. A massage too to relieve stress and muscular aches and pains can also work wonders for a stress-out mind. Men should take more time out for themselves and not be so tough on themselves and their body.

What seasonal differences should we be bearing in mind?

The climate and external influences on the skin, body and soul are very different in the summer compared to the winter. Our treatments, active ingredients and products vary in line with these changes.

In summer we tend to go for fresh, cooling, light skincare, e.g. a with a fluid and perhaps the aroma of fresh lemons. In winter we’d prefer applying a rich crème, while the fragrances tend to be stronger, cozier, warmer, perhaps with vanilla or cinnamon.

Do you have any insider tips after a night out partying?

Personally my power drink of choice is a green smoothie with spinach and chia seeds. It replenishes what the body has lost in terms of minerals overnight and provides you with renewed strength from within.

Removing all make-up is really important for your appearance and complexion. A fresh, intensive moisturising mask will also help, as will green cucumber or an eye cushion for a positive start to the day.

Anyone who has danced the night away might also benefit from a foot massage. Light exercise such as yoga or pilates will relax and give you renewed strength – even at home.

What is your favourite treatment and why?

I personally most love receiving a head or foot massage. Both of these are areas that relax the entire body when the reflex zones and energy points are stimulated. I also love pedicures and beautiful feet!

When it comes to carrying out treatments on other people, I most like doing pedicures or make-up, because I get to see direct results. I also like giving massages – either a classic massage or a Swedish massage. I get the chance to adapt it guests’ specific needs or complaints.

Photo

Katja’s last word:

Taking time-out for yourself is always a good idea. Cosmetics, massages, exercise, nutrition and sauna trips all contribute to our well-being. And ideally you should try to combine all of these elements into your routine!

Curious to find out more? Then visit our Mandarin body & soul team in east!

Wellness
auf den Punkt
gebracht

BEAUTY & SPORT

Wellness auf den Punkt gebracht

091214 | Redaktion

Katja Limbach ist stellvertretende Managerin des east Sporting Clubs und east Mandarin Body & Soul. Sie kümmert sich um die Koordination des Teams im east Sporting Club speziell am Empfang. Im Wellnessbereich Mandarin body & soul ist Katja für die Unterweisung der Azubis in Kosmetik und Massage zuständig.

Was ist das Wichtigste an einer Wellness- oder Kosmetikbehandlung?
Das Wichtigste ist, auf die Wünsche und Bedürfnisse der Gäste einzugehen. Ich möchte wissen, wer ist da und wie kann ich ihn oder sie glücklich machen. Dazu frage ich z.B. nach Hautirritationen oder -beschwerden, wie ist das Empfinden der Haut, ist sie z.B. unrein oder trocken. Ich hinterfrage die Ursachen, versuche herauszufinden, was wir direkt dagegen tun können und was langfristig zu Hause getan werden kann.

Welche Gäste kommen zu dir?
Wir haben die Mitglieder des Sporting Clubs, die Hotelgäste kommen natürlich zu uns, meist am Wochenende, aber auch viele Hamburger.

Wenn jemand nur eine halbe Stunde Zeit hat, was empfiehlst du?
Um frischer auszusehen, mal kurz abzuschalten oder erholt ins nächste Meeting zu gehen, haben wir verschiedene kurze Behandlungen. Z.B. den „Cicé Lifting Kick“. Wir konzentrieren uns dabei auf die Pflege der Haut, stimulieren mit einer Druckpunktmassage in Gesicht und Kopf die Durchblutung und entspannen so den ganzen Körper, indem wir die Meridiane gezielt ansprechen.

Was kann jeder zu Hause für Entspannung und Wohlbefinden tun?
Es wichtig, sich Zeit für sich zu nehmen und dass es einem selbst Wert ist, dies für sich zu tun! Dazu gehört die Reinigung und Pflege, um die Haut zu unterstützen und vor stressigen Umwelteinflüssen wie Sonne, Heizungsluft, Abgase zu schützen. Es sollte ein Ritual werden, wie Zähneputzen.
Außerdem tut es gut, einfach eine halbe Stunde mal nichts zu tun und schöne Musik zu hören. Handy und Fernseher gehören dabei ausgeschaltet!

Was empfiehlst du Männern zum Thema body & soul?
Es gibt immer mehr Männer, die darauf achten, gut auszusehen und sich eine Maniküre, Pediküre oder eine Gesichtsbehandlung gönnen. Auch eine Massage gegen Stress und die muskuläre Entspannung dadurch wirkt Wunder gegen einen Kopf, der vor Gedanken brummt.
Männer sollten sich mehr Zeit für sich nehmen und nicht so rabiat mit sich und ihrem Körper umgehen.

Welche saisonalen Unterschiede sollte man beachten?
Das Klima und somit die äußeren Umstände für Haut, Körper und Gemüt unterscheiden sich im Sommer und Winter sehr. Unsere Anwendungen, Wirkstoffe und Produkte sind darauf ausgerichtet.
Im Sommer ist es eine frische, kühlende, leichte Pflege z.B. ein Fluid, der Duft eher frisch zitronig. Im Winter pflegt eine reichhaltige Creme besser, die Düfte sind kräftig, kuschelig warm, vanillig, zimtig.

Was ist dein Geheimtipp nach einer durchgefeierten Nacht?
Persönlich habe ich den Grünen Smoothie mit Spinat und Chiasamen als Power Getränk für mich entdeckt um zurück zu gewinnen, was der Körper an Mineralien über Nacht verloren hat und ihn von innen wieder zu stärken.
Ganz wichtig für das Äußere ist das Abschminken. Dann hilft eine frische, intensive Feuchtigkeitsmaske, grüne Gurke oder ein Augenkissen als positiver Start in den Tag.
Wer viel getanzt hat, bekommt gerne eine Fußmassage. Leichte Bewegung wie Yoga oder Pilates entspannt und gibt neue Kraft – auch zu Hause.

Welches ist deine Lieblingsbehandlung und warum?
Ich bekomme am liebsten eine Kopf- oder eine Fußmassage. Beides sind Bereiche, die bei Stimulation der Reflexzonen und Energiepunkte den ganzen Körper entspannen. Und ich liebe Pediküre und schöne Füße!

Wenn ich selbst Behandlungen durchführe, mache ich am liebsten Pediküre oder Make up, weil ich ein direktes Ergebnis sehen kann. Und ich massiere gerne, ganz klassisch die Schwedische Massage. Hier kann ich sehr individuell auf die Beschwerden oder den gewünschten Focus des Gastes eingehen.

Katjas Fazit:
Es ist gut, sich zwischendurch immer mal eine Auszeit zu nehmen. Kosmetik, Massage, Sport, Ernährung, Sauna gehört ganzheitlich zum Thema Wellness und sollte im Idealfall immer miteinander verbunden sein!

Neugierig geworden? Dann besuche unser Mandarin body & soul Team im east!